Music After the Fall: Modern Composition and Culture Since 1989 [Audiobook] download free by Tim Rutherford Johnson

Music After the Fall: Modern Composition and Culture Since 1989 Audiobook download free by Tim Rutherford Johnson
  • Listen audiobook: Music After the Fall: Modern Composition and Culture Since 1989
  • Author: Tim Rutherford Johnson
  • Release date: 2017/5/23
  • Language: English
  • Genre or Collection: Art and Photography
  • ISBN: 9780520283152
  • Rating: 8.01 of 10
  • Votes: 166
  • Review by: Leilani Gustafson
  • Review rating: 9.22 of 10
  • Review Date: 2018/9/6
  • Duration: 4H33M in 256 kbps (73.6 MB)
  • Date of creation of the audiobook: 2018-09-24
  • You can listen to this audiobook in formats: FLAC, MPEG-4 SLS, MP3, WMA, MPEG4, AAC, WAV, AIFF (compression RAR, ACE, CPIO, DEB, ZIP, CAB)
  • Total pages original book: 368
  • Includes a PDF summary of 36 pages
  • Duration of the summary (audio): 27M18S (7.2 MB)
  • Description or summary of the audiobook: Music after the Fall is the first book to survey contemporary Western art music within the transformed political, cultural, and technological environment of the post-Cold War era. In this book, Tim Rutherford-Johnson considers musical composition against this changed backdrop, placing it in the context of globalization, digitization, and new media. Drawing connections with the other arts, in particular visual art and architecture, he expands the definition of Western art music to include forms of composition, experimental music, sound art, and crossover work from across the spectrum, inside and beyond the concert hall. Each chapter is a critical consideration of a wide range of composers, performers, works, and institutions, and develops a broad and rich picture of the new music ecosystem, from North American string quartets to Lebanese improvisers, from electroacoustic music studios in South America to ruined pianos in the Australian outback. Rutherford-Johnson puts forth a new approach to the study of contemporary music that relies less on taxonomies of style and technique than on the comparison of different responses to common themes of permission, fluidity, excess, and loss.
  • Other categories, genre or collection: Media Studies, Music Reviews & Criticism, 20th Century History: C 1900 To C 2000
  • Download servers: MEGA, Uploaded, Hotfile, Mediafire, Uptobox, FileServe, Pixeldrain, Dropbox. Compressed in RAR, ACE, CPIO, DEB, ZIP, CAB
  • Format: Paperback
  • Approximate value: 29.58 USD
  • Dimensions: 152x229x21mm
  • Weight: 530.7g
  • Printed by: Not Available
  • Published in: Berkerley, United States

Download audiobook in:

Option 2

Option 3

Option 4

Option 5


More audiobooks of the genre or collection Art and Photography

More audiobooks of the publisher UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA PRESS

More audiobooks in language English

More audiobooks of 2017